herbst-5943.jpg

IT ALL STARTED WITH AN EMPTY BARREL...

Ever since Simon was very young, he always knew that he wanted to cultivate his own wine one day. During his studies, he put his heart and soul into learning about wine and how it’s created. Simon was lucky – there were still a few vineyards in his family, where the grapes hadn't been used to produce any wine since a long period of time. That was then. Now, he has poured all his knowledge and passion into the very barrels where his first wines now slumber. Simon has picked the finest grapes from the finest vineyards and he is now creating his own wines – and with it, writing the first chapter of an exciting story.

herbst-6016.jpg

PRECIOUS SOIL, HARD WORK.

Loiben lies on the left bank of the Danube. Here in the heart of the Wachau, the steep, terraced vineyards sprawl out as far as the eye can see – and further still. Viticulture has a long-standing tradition here and despite the elevations, which aren’t the most ideal to cultivate, wine takes centre stage in Loiben. The locality is home to a special climate, which is regulated by the Danube. Warm airstreams from the Pannonian region and cool winds from Lower Austria’s Waldviertel district come together to give the wine an exceptional aroma. But it’s not just about the climate. The soil is another crucial factor in creating the unique wines from Loiben: strongly weathered primary rock, as well as gneiss and loess, shape the soil profile of the Loibner vineyards.

herbst-5950.jpg

BETWEEN ME AND US

Viticulture has always held a very special place in the Gattinger family. Simon's great-grandfather Anton Gattinger put his heart and soul into producing his own wine and was a leading member in the founding of the "Dinstl-Gut" vintners' association in Loiben back in 1930. The business was later carried on full-time by Simon's grandfather, Leopold Gattinger, and then by Simon's father Leo Gattinger on a part-time basis. For 20 years, the grapes were sold to well-known vintners in the surrounding area. It wasn't until 2017, when Simon decided to press his own wines, that vinification resumed at the winery. Simon feels lucky to have direct access to the knowledge and experience of his parents, who are always actively supporting him.

SISSY

the Perfectionist

LEO

the Aspirational

ALL RIGHTS RESERVED © SIMON GATTINGER

CONTACT

NAVIGATION

TASTING & SALES

Weingut Simon Gattinger
Unterloiben 34 
3601 Dürnstein
Wachau | Austria

📞 +43 660 492 66 40
💻 info@weingutgattinger.at

Monday - Saturday
10:00 am - 6:00 pm
after prior appointment by telephone

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

STAY UP TO DATE ON INSTAGRAM

@weingutgattinger

SUBSCRIBE FOR NEWS!

herbst-5943.jpg

WENN IN EINEM LEEREN FASS EINE GESCHICHTE ENTSTEHT...

Eigentlich wusste Simon schon als kleines Kind, dass er einmal seinen eigenen Wein keltern möchte. Deshalb widmete er sich während seiner Ausbildung voll und ganz dem Wein und dessen Entstehung. Glück hatte er, denn es gibt in seiner Familie noch einige Weingärten, von deren Trauben lange Zeit kein eigener Wein produziert wurde. Das ist jetzt anders, denn er hat sein Wissen und seine Leidenschaft in ein Fass gesteckt, in dem jetzt seine ersten Weine schlummern. Simon hat sich die besten Trauben aus den besten Weingärten geholt und macht jetzt seine eigenen Weine - der Beginn einer spannenden Geschichte.

herbst-6016.jpg

WERTVOLLER BODEN, HARTE ARBEIT...

Am linken Donauufer liegt Loiben. Im Herzen der Wachau erstrecken sich die steilen Terrassen weiter als das Auge reicht. Der Weinbau hat eine lange Tradition und trotz der schwer zu bewirtschaftenden Lagen ist der Wein der prägendste Faktor in Loiben. Hier herrscht ein besonderes Klima, welches von der Donau reguliert wird. Warme Luftströme aus dem pannonischen Umfeld und kühle Winde aus dem Waldviertel sorgen für eine besondere Aromatik im Wein. Auch der Boden ist ausschlaggebend für die einzigartigen Weine aus Loiben: stark verwittertes Urgestein, aber auch Gneis und Löss prägen das Bodenprofil der Loibner Rieden.

herbst-5950.jpg

ZWISCHEN ICH UND WIR...

Der Weinbau hatte immer einen hohen Stellenwert in der Familie Gattinger. Schon Simon’s Urgroßvater Anton Gattinger produzierte mit großer Leidenschaft seine eigenen Weine und war bei der Gründung der Winzervereinigung „Dinstl-Gut“ in Loiben im Jahre 1930 einer der leitenden Mitglieder. Der Weinbaubetrieb wurde später von Simon’s Großvater Leopold Gattinger hauptberuflich und anschließend von Simon’s Vater Leo Gattinger im Kombinationserwerb weitergeführt. 20 Jahre lang wurden die Trauben an renommierte Nachbarwinzer verkauft. Erst als sich Simon 2017 entschloss, seinen eigenen Wein zu keltern, wurde die Vinifikation am Weingut wieder aufgenommen. Glücklich schätzen kann sich Simon über das Wissen und die Erfahrung seiner Eltern, welche ihm immer tatkräftig zur Seite stehen.

SISSY

die Perfektionistin

LEO

der Ambitionierte

ALL RIGHTS RESERVED © SIMON GATTINGER

KONTAKT

NAVIGATION

VERKOSTUNG & VERKAUF

Weingut Simon Gattinger
Unterloiben 34 
3601 Dürnstein
Wachau | Austria

📞 +43 660 492 66 40
💻 info@weingutgattinger.at

Montag - Samstag
10:00 - 18:00 Uhr
nach telefonischer Voranmeldung

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

STAY UP TO DATE ON INSTAGRAM

@weingutgattinger

SUBSCRIBE FOR NEWS!